Welcome!!


Welcome to Slave To My Needles…

This is a brand new blog for me as I am brand new to blogging since March and have only done it for Blooming Sisters . I have created this blog in order to keep you up to date on what’s happening with my studio at the soon-to-launch handmade venue Lotus Made.  In addition, I plan to throw little tid bits of personal stuff in here as well, and a ‘For Sale’ page. 

As you can see, there is a link to my Flickr account to the right in the sidebar.  When you click on ‘more pictures’ it will bring you directly to my photostream….Everything you see in there has been made at one point or another for clients, family and/or friends and can be made again in fabric/color/and/or size you wish…

I welcome custom orders.  I have been sewing for over 35 years.  My most favorite works are infant, toddler and little girls’ items, as well as nursery bedding, memory/memorial quilts, home decor and costumes.  I am happy to do formal wear as well.  Actually, If You Can Imagine It; I Can Make It!  So, let’s talk. 🙂

On the personal side; I am a married (for 32 years), mother of four, and gramma, or namma depending on who you ask of 9 grandmiracles.  I have worked in the medical field most of my life and sewing was a hobby for me.  About four years ago, I  was having trouble getting through a full shift on my feet so, I cut back to part time and even that was causing an awful lot of pain, so I decided to work at home doing what I absolutely love….SEWING!!!!!

I signed on to a Custom Made component of a hand-made selling venue and did quite well until they took the custom made part of it away almost a year ago.

Then, I had a friend who decided she really wanted to create her own venue and asked if I would be the Project Manager….well, of course I said, ‘yes.’  We gathered a few more people to join us…all very talented and highly skilled people with awesome personalities and we brainstormed till we came up with Lotus Made as the name because these thoughts made it absolutely perfect!!!!! (Just as the elegant and beautiful Lotus Flower emerges from the rich mud into a glorious creation, so do we create from deep within our imaginations, where ideas flit from here to there until they are formed into a unique creation by the vision of the artist). Pretty neat, huh?  Now, we are eight people on the development team and we prefer to call ourselves ‘sisters.’  Hence, Blooming Sisters for our blog.  Please, feel free to go to our blog and check it out.  While you are busy doing that and sharing this with your friends, I am off to do some work, here at home and for Lotus Made and Blooming Sisters.

Thanks for visiting and please, subscribe so you don’t miss one little update about everything that is blossoming, everywhere!!!!

Be back soon!!!!

Leave a comment and let me know what you would like to see or read here, as well as if you have something you have been wanting made, perhaps for Christmas, Birthday, Anniversary, Bridal or Baby shower, new arrivals or just because gifts.

~Louise

8 thoughts on “Welcome!!

  1. It looks great and I can’t wait to read your blog posts 🙂 Blogging is great fun and I’ll be adding your blog to my blogroll – tomorrow. Now? i’m off to bed 🙂

Leave a Reply

