Have You Met This Featured Artist?


Welcome to my Featured Artist segment of my blog.  I hope you enjoy this artist as much as I do….it is amazing what he does……

This week’s featured artist, is a tool-maker. 

He will tell you all about himself below, but I am so amazed by his craft.  He makes glass knitting needles! Can you imagine? Super smooth and pretty and amazing! A handmade tool for you to create your handmade treasures! That said, I would like to present to you, Chris Murphy!!!!

‘I have been a glassblower for over 16 years.
Two years ago I was thinking about new products to make. So I made a set of Knitting Needles and took them to the local yarn shop.
The owners loved them, and asked if I could make crochet hooks as well. So I went back to my workshop and started experimenting with designs for them.
 
I came up with this design/shape for the crochet hooks and showed it to them. They tested it out and loved it.
These works of art are CROCHET HOOKS!!!!
So I focused my glass work almost entirely on making Crochet Hooks, Straight Knitting Needles, Cable Needles and DPNs (double pointed needles).
The next request was for Circular Knitting Needles, and that took almost a year to figure out how I was going to make the join between needle and cord.
 
Along the way, I learned how to knit as well, and now I am addicted to playing with yarn…..hahahaha Learning to Crochet is next on my list.
Chris, knitting Socks!
About a year ago I designed my website to make ordering easier for people. I also frequently talk to people on facebook and twitter, to make fiber friends and talk about custom orders.
At work

The glass is flameworked in a torch that puts out 5,250 degrees.

After shaping and working the hooks or needles, I then Anneal them in a Kiln at 1,025 degrees.
 
Isn’t it amazing? I love handmade tools! It just adds another layer, another person with all their dreams and hopes to my work. It also makes me think back to the days where people didn’t have machine produced tools at all and how wonderful this must have been. I think handmade is really the way of the future!’
 
If you want to know more about Chris, then subscribe to him on FB and Twitter.
Here is also a link to his Facebook artists page.  Go and “like”!
 
If you are an artist, and would like to be featured, please send an email to spinndiva@gmail.com  with a few paragraphs about yourself  and what you do and attach a few pics.  For sure, you will go on the list of Featured Artists and I will let you know when you are scheduled and where…And where?  Well, read on…..
 
When you are listed to be featured, you will first be featured on Bridgett’s blog and then you will go on to be featured on three more blogs within one week’s time. First, onthis blog then, on Karen’s blog, and then, on the Indie Mosaic blog! So you get maximum exposure! Since we all do different arts you will reach different readers on each of our blogs and you really get your name out there! It’s really great! And best of all: It’s FREE!  
 
I would also recommend that you check out the upcoming featured artists in the calendar on the Indie Mosaic board and while you are there, register as an artist and/or buyer and find the category under Library of Artists that best suits your art and tell people about yourself and what you do.  If you have a custom request you would like filled, post it with as many details as  possible under the Custom Requests category.
 

(I do reserve the right to censor what I feature. I have a family friendly blog and WILL keep it that way! I hope you understand! )

Now, go check out Chris and show him some love!!!  🙂

Thank you, Chris, for the opportunity to learn all about a very intriguing art form!!!!

~Louise

Leave a Reply

