Have You Met This Featured Artist???


I have a wonderfully interesting artist for you to meet, today and she has one heck of a sense of humor as well.  Here she is!!!!

Hey. I’m Jess, and I crochet monsters. That’s what I say to people when they ask me what I do. I also make hats, assorted monster accessories, design crochet patterns, and then there’s the butts. The reaction to that part is always fun. I crochet cat and pug butt ornaments and keychains. They make me laugh.

Bad hat my foot! I LOVE THIS ONE!

I started off as a bad hat maker, who had no concept of gauge or texture or sizing. It was a disaster. I moved to crocheted flowers and then to beaded crochet jewelry. Eventually I fell into doll making, and the monsters kind of took over.

My monsters are my main gig, as they make me the happiest creatively. I also have 2 little boys who seem to dig them. Monsters it is! I was crocheting only art doll monsters for a while, but my kids couldn’t play with them. They were stuffed with plastic bags, which is very earth friendly, but kids don’t get that. This brought about the monster plush dolls that the kiddies can play with.

squeeeee! So cute!

I’m trying to figure out how to make all of this as eco-friendly as possible. I still stuff my monster sculptures with plastic bags, and I’m hoping to move entirely to wool and other renewable fibers. First I have to work through my stash of acrylic and various fun furs. For now, new yarn coming in is renewable only and the kids get monsters stuffed with wool instead of polyester fiberfill. It’s a work in progress.

So creative!!!!

The cat butts and pug butts, along with the crochet pattern designing, breaks up the monster work. This keeps me from feeling like it’s the same old thing everyday. I’m working on building up my online presence, doing more craft shows, and getting my work into art galleries. In the meantime, you can find me in the garden or snowboarding with my kids… or fighting with the knitting that I’m still trying to master.

Website: http://knotbygranma.com

Etsy: http://knotbygranma.etsy.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/knotbygranma

Facebook: http://facebook.com/knotbygranma

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/knotbygranma

If you are an artist, or know of an artist you think deserves to be featured, please let me know by leaving a comment here.

My featured artists will go on to be featured on two more blogs this month. Next on  Karen’s blog, then the Indie Mosaic blog and was just featured on Bridgett’s blog! So you get maximum exposure! Since we all do different things you will reach different readers on each of our blogs and you really get your name out there! It’s really great. And best of all: It’s free! If you enjoyed reading this and want to be featured, or know of someone that you think should be featured, leave a comment on this post, or email me at SlaveToMyNeedles@comcast.net. I would also recommend that you check out the upcoming artists in the calendar on the Indie Mosaic board!

~Louise

2 thoughts on “Have You Met This Featured Artist???

    • Good morning, Terry.
      I would suggest clicking on one of the links for this artist and sending her a message. I am not sure if she sells her patterns or just the finished product. Thanks for your inquiry.
      ~Louise

Leave a Reply

