Have You Met This Author? Yes, I Said ‘Author’


I know, usually it is a featured artist here on Mondays but this time, although I am sure she has items she has hand made and is also an artist, today’s feature is on the author of Cast On Bind Off  .

I will let her explain;

Hi, I am Leslie Ann and, as the child of a composer and a reference librarian, creativity and an appetite for learning have defined my path in knitting. My mom taught me to knit (and sew and macrame and decoupage and……) when I was a kid, but after a few mis-shaped holey pieces, I let it slide. I picked it up again after college because I really wanted socks that would fit my small feet. I didn’t have alot of patience for big projects then and knit nothing but socks for the first year. Eventually I moved on to other things but it was a few years before I was really bitten by the knitting bug and knew I wanted it to be part of my daily life. I informed my parents that I wanted a knitting career and after their shock wore off my mother sent me a library of knitting books, which served as my early education in knitting technique.

After many years as a designer and knitter of custom sweaters, socks and other knitted garments I moved to Massachusetts and found my dream job – working and teaching in a yarn store. What could be better? A steady paycheck (noticeably difficult at that time as a designer/knitter) and the opportunity to be surrounded by beautiful yarns and creative and inspiring people! I have seen the knitting world change a lot over the last thirty years and what is so exciting for me is to see how today’s knitters are so thirsty for knowledge. They want to do more than just follow patterns, they want to try new techniques and understand the structure of the knitted stitches.
Cast On Bind Off was born in this environment of learning and growing. I had been collecting and learning new cast ons and bind offs, discovering the many ways the edges of your knitting can affect the quality of your finished piece. I had a file full of scraps of papers and notes and knew this needed to be organised in a much better fashion. The result is this book, one that I hope will be a useful reference tool for knitters to tuck into their project bags and pull out to find and learn what will work best for their project. Most people (myself included) stick to one cast on/bind off because that is the one they first learned. But oh what a big world of techniques is out there! I love teaching classes in these techniques because students get so excited when they realise that they can match the cast on/bind off to the needs of their knitting. I encourage people to learn and play with them, using small swatches as practice samples to compare how different edges look and handle. And there are so many to learn – some that will become new mainstays and some that you use only occasionally for specific situations. My hope is that this book will allow knitters to take their knitting to a new level and introduce them to new ways to cast on and bind off that will make their knits look even better.

If you are an artist, or know of an artist you think deserves to be featured, please let me know by leaving a comment here.

My featured artists will go on to be featured on two more blogs this month. Next, on Karen’s blog and then, on Indie Mosaic blog and was just featured on Bridgett’s blog! So you get maximum exposure! Since we all do different things you will reach different readers on each of our blogs and you really get your name out there! It’s really great. And best of all: It’s free! If you enjoyed reading this and want to be featured, or know of someone that you think should be featured, leave a comment on this post, or email me at SlaveToMyNeedles@comcast.net.

~Louise

Leave a Reply

