Have You Met This Author/Artist? 09/10/2012


I have a special someone here with me today! Ruth Ann Nordin. She is an author! Haven’t heard of her? Go check her out!

I better let her tell you who she is and what she does!

Unlike most authors, I didn’t start out life with a love for storytelling or reading.  In fact, I hated reading and writing up until I was in grade twelve.  Hi, everyone!  My name is Ruth Ann Nordin, and I’m proof that even if you didn’t enjoy something as a kid, it’s never too late to make it your life’s passion.  Granted, I’m not that old.  I’m currently 37 and a stay-at-home to four elementary-aged boys.
I dabbled a bit with writing when I was in high school and college, but my real love was reading during that time.  So nothing came out of the stuff I wrote back then.  However, the day came when I found myself searching for a particular book I wanted to read, but I realized it wasn’t anywhere.  I bugged sales people at bookstores, searched online, and asked others in forums.  There were books close to what I wanted to read, but they weren’t exactly what I wanted to read.  This was back in late 2007.
I will back up for a moment to add that I did publish non-romance books from 2002 to 2006, but they weren’t books I was passionate about.  I was afraid to write romance novels because my family pretty much said romance was “trash,” and it’s awkward to see these people when you’re doing something that they don’t approve of.  So I wrote science fiction, fantasy, and thrillers (aka. books they approved of).
It was in 2007 when I got a brochure in my mailbox for romance novels.  Interested, I browsed through it and ordered a couple of books.  I realized I enjoyed reading those much more than the books I was making myself read (because of my family’s influence).  Reading romances led to ideas for romance stories, so I decided to write one.
I honestly expected to write one or two romance novels and stop writing for a year because that’s how it was with the other genres I’d written in the past.  But romance was different, and the more I wrote, the more ideas I got.  An Inconvenient Marriage was the romance novel that got me started on the road to where I am today.  Then with Eye of the Beholder, I developed a love for historical western romances.  Recently, I discovered how much fun it is to write Regencies. Now it’s 2012.  I just finished Her Counterfeit Husband, which is my 26th romance to date.  I’ll have Bound by Honor, Bound by Love (my 27th romance) out soon, and I’m currently writing three more romances.  My goal is to hit 50 romances and after that, I’ll aim for a higher goal.
 
When I’m not writing, I like to go out to the zoo, nature trails, the pool (in the summer), and movies with my husband and children.  I still read, and ironically, I lean towards nonfiction.  I guess it’s because I immerse myself so much in writing fiction that it helps my mind to get a break.
I’m a firm believer in the idea that our past doesn’t define who we are.  If so, then I wouldn’t be a writer today since I hated writing early on.  I think if there’s an interest someone has, they should pursue it and see if more comes of it.  Sometimes it doesn’t lead to more, but sometimes it can become a person’s greatest passion in life.  You just never know unless you try.  I also believe that failure is an opportunity to learn how to do something better.  So I’m not afraid of being imperfect as long as I’m improving with each new book I write.  And that’s the same thing I tell my kids when they don’t get a perfect grade on their work assignment in school.  It’s a lot more important that you’re doing better now than you did yesterday.  I also believe it’s better to try than to never take the risk.
Here are some links:

If you are an artist, or know of an artist you think deserves to be featured, please let me know by leaving a comment here.

My featured artist will go on to be featured again,  this week,  on Karen’s blog  and was just featured on Bridgett’s blog! So you get maximum exposure! Since we all do different things you will reach different readers on each of our blogs and you really get your name out there! It’s really great. And best of all: It’s free! If you enjoyed reading this and want to be featured, or know of someone that you think should be featured, leave a comment on this post, or email me at SlaveToMyNeedles@comcast.net.

(I do reserve the right to censor what I feature. I have a family friendly blog and WILL keep it that way! I hope you understand! )

~Louise

Leave a Reply

